Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does

Luck can be defined in several ways. Some school of thought would define it as when opportunity meets preparation while to others, its when something happens by chance rather than preparation. There are several success stories out there most of which glorify work ethics as the main reason for success. While this is plausible, the influence of luck cannot be undermined.

There are several ways in which one can become successful through luck. One example is being born into a wealthy family. The probability of this happening is 1 in a million, so it can be regarded as sheer luck. It can be argued that this individuals from rich homes don’t require as much hard work as the average person since they have enough resources at their disposal to achieve what they want and on time too.

Sometimes, you are called lucky because some good things you didn’t plan for or expect happens to you or rather simply, you get appointed for a job or role you are not qualified for. In such case, the amount of time it would have taken you to get to such a role or position through hardwork is shortened with luck. The form in which you are lucky could present in different ways too. For example, there might not have been any better qualified candidate applying for the same role and the company just had to settle for you.

On the other hand, the importance of work ethics in success cannot be ignored. Infact, you are more likely to succeed with hard work than sheer luck. Using Cristiano Ronaldo for example, who is a world class football player. We could see that although, he had the talent, he still had to put in extra effort and work to become the best football player in the world. He wasn’t waiting to be lucky and hoping every other football player would just be worse than him in football one way or another. However, can we say that CR7 was even lucky to be recognized by football scouts to be able to help him reach his full potential? Yes, we certainly can.

In conclusion, while luck plays a big role in the success stories of many people and celebrities, the importance a strong work ethics cannot be dismissed. Sometimes you may need a combination of both to be able to achieve that which you desire.