Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Luck obviously plays a role in determining success, but I think it is a questionable claim that luck plays a bigger role in that. If someone works hard enough, he has a greater chance of succeeding at a task than someone who depends mostly on luck. Even then, the success story of a hard-working man is somewhat shaped by luck.

First and foremost condition of succeeding at a task is work ethic. Suppose a student is preparing for an exam. He followed his classes regularly and covered everything in the syllabus. However, one of his classmates did not attend classes regularly and only learnt a few chosen topics from the syllabus. Who has a higher chance of securing a better marks in the exam? Most of the people will say the first student as he has the better preparation. The second student will only be able to secure a good marks if all the or most of the questions are from the topics he covered, which mostly depends on luck.

Luck is still involved in success in a minor way. Following up on the example given before, what if the well prepared student suddenly falls ill? Or what if he faces a traffic congestion on his way to the exam hall and reaches the hall 20 minutes late? Will he still be able to secure a good marks? The chances are very low. So even if someone works hard, luck is still involved.

The most important factor in determining success is someone's work ethic. Because a person without any work ethic has a lower chance of success than someone with work ethic. But a person with work ethic still relies on luck to be successful.