Luck plays more of a role on determining success than work ethic does.

The success of an individual is contingent on a number of factors or variables. The extent to which each of these factors lead to success may however differ. The prompt states that a person's luck plays a more significant role in determining success than that person's work ethics. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons.

Success is often the measure of completing one's work or duties on time with great efficiency. Thus the work ethics followed by that individual play the utmost important part in determining that individual's success. Work ethics is a factor that is under our own control and we can ensure to succeed in the task we are assigned if we tend to follow proper work ethics. On the other hand, luck may or may not always be on your side and hence it may not always guarantee success. Consider the anniversary appraisal of an employee working in an IT company, where at the end of the year employee's performance is evaluated and his appraisal is decided. During this process, the reviewer evaluates all the tasks performed by the employee, his/her efficiency in doing so, employee's everyday punctuality along with their behavior and attitude in the office's corporate professional environment. In other words, employees work ethics are evaluated to determine how much of an asset has he been to the company in the entire year which is nothing but his success as a good employee. No where is the luck factor weighed against his performance in order to measure his success. This example shows that individual's work ethics will help people acknowledge his/her hard work, efforts and success more rather than relying on luck which may or may not guarantee success.

Further reflecting on the prompt, I find that even though luck is in one's favor,

their ultimate success in what they do solely depends on how well they perform and fit into their role at that job. Many a times we find that the legacy of a business is carried forward by the heir of the businessman or a businesswoman. Their child steps in as the director or head of the business post their retirement. Here we find that the child gets the opportunity to head the company because of luck solely based on the fact that he/she is the offspring of the businessman. But his/her success as the head will more importantly depend on how well can he handle all the duties and the responsibilities. If he acts unprofessionally and fails to follow work ethics or rules and regulations of the company, he/she will fail to be a successful lead for the company. Therefore we see that luck does not supersede work ethics when determining success.

Some people might say that lucky people get more opportunities in all walks of life. While that may be true those opportunities will only result in success if that person is willing to put in efforts to carve a niche for himself in that job role which implies that the work ethics they follow is eventually going to be the measure of their success.