Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts who are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public
Most government officials are elected by the public considering the country has demorcracy to choose one.
Decisions taken by these officials should be considered as the decisions of the public itself.
While in most of the cases the decision must be taken by taking different statistics of the country like
population density, average income groups, etc which might not be available to general public and makes it difficult for them
to take pragmatic decisions. Thus, I support the statement of the author considering different issues while taking
decisions in mind.
Firstly, the decisions taken on certain policies or say certain infrastructure projects must be in accordance to various
factors (geographical location, funds, common people mindset) which play important role in decision making. In India,
a new project of Bullet Train, is to be completed. Now, to give green signal to this project government has to take
financies, land requirements and term of completion to be in consideration. Even though Bullet trains are required
in a developing country their placements should be such that it should benefit the general public and not only a
single person. If the decision of making Bullet train is to be taken by general public then, there can be chaos in
finalizing the route as everyone would want the train to be nearest to oneself. Thus, the opinion of general public can
be sometimes dogmatic towards there own needs and hence, government should be the ones taking the decision.
Secondly, the declaration of holidays which makes oneself happy only by listening the word holiday should also be taken
by the government as this declaration is so tempting that if it is to be taken by general public then, everyone wants there
own days to be declared holidays which in turn can turnup into a disaster for corporates and government offices.
Considering the situation in which if anyone can take holiday in a week which can be other than weekends too could
make a disastrous situation. For instance, assume you are going to catch a train at 7 am and to getup early you
walk yourself to the station and suddenly you realize that the driver of the train has taken holiday and the train
won't be going today. This sounds stupid but if the general public are allowed to take such decision then, they would
be tempted to do such stupid things. However, this might not be the case always but probability of such cases can't be
ignored and hence, the government should taken such decisions on behalf of general public.
Finally, making decisions should not only be done by the government but the general public should be taken into
consideration. By taking polls on certains laws before passing them in the assembly can be one such path towards
fairness.
However, while taking small decisions government should not consider taking the polls because this can lead
to unwanted delays. But for larger decisions may be for some infra projects government should take polls
as this would allow transparecy to prevail and will help the government to get more support of public.
In conclusion, Major decisions should be left to government officials but there should also be a space
for amendments if required on the basis of public opinions.