A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment

As per the application submitted, group of developers have proposed to develop a new jazz club in Monroe.

The developers came to this idea by taking into consideration the current neareast jazz club which is 65 miles

away as well as keen interest of people of Monroe in jazz giving supporting fact that the highest-rates radio

program in Monroe is "Jazz Nigtly". However, before this proposal can be properly evaluated three questions are needed

to be answered.

First of all, are the 1 million people who attended the Monroe's annual Jazz function were all localities? In other words

is there no possibility that some or many of these 1 million people were from neighbour cities? It is possible that

there might not be any such jazz event took place in Monroe since many years and people might have attended this

function only of curiousity. Further there is a possibility that Monroe's Jazz event was mostly attended by people

from remote areas and not by the localities. If either of this possibilities are true then it casts doubt

on the profitability of building a jazz club in Monroe.

Secondly, What is the probability that Jazz would be popular in the coming future ? There might be a case wherein

jazz might get replaced by some other genre and which would definitely affect the clubs profit. Since any development project

can be completed in few months and sometimes can also take years to complete. Taking this into consideration there might be

a possibility that jazz had been replaced by some other genre till the time the club was getting build. History has presented

us many such situation werein popular stuff of one time is getting neglected in coming years. In real world any situation is

unpredictable and can happen anytime and as we should learn from history but it is not patent that such things can happen

with jazz too. If the above comes to be true, then this makes one dubious about the profitability of the jazz club.

Finally, What is the average spending of Monroe's local public on jazz clubs? In other words, can't it be the case that

local Monroe public spent too less than the nations avearge expenditure on jazz entertainment? Monroe public may have a

mindset of saving money instead of spending on entertainment events. If the average expense of localities comes out to

be far less than the average presented then how can one say that these people will spend above average or say equal to

average on entertainment. While making such clubs this condition must be taken into consideration. If this rationale

comes to be true then what guarantees the jazz club profit and loan repayment.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted

assumptions. IF the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the

form of systematic research ), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed

development project to build a jazz club in moroe.