The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

The author of the editorial states that the sales of Whirlwind video which had declined over the past two years are likely to go up. To support this increase in sales, the author also mentions a few reasons. However, in my opinion, the author's reasons are based on unsubstantiated assumptions and are unpersuasive. So I disagree with the author and to support my claim I have listed the following reasons.

Firstly, the author in the argument states that the sales of the video games are bound to be reversed as per a recent survey. Here, the author's claims are presumptuous and lack evidence. The author does not mention any details about the survey that was conducted. How many people took part in the survey? When exactly was the survey conducted? and so on. It might be quite possible that very few people took part in the survey. Furthermore, the survey asked people what they thought were the most important features in the video game and results showed that people preferred games with lifelike graphics. In my opinion, this question in a survey is ambiguous as everyone cannot afford the high-end computers required to play lifelike graphic games. The main purpose of a survey is to obtain a collective conclusion of all the people. If the company focuses only on one feature i.e graphics, then the overall cost might overshoot the budget of middle-income people and in fact lower the sales of the videogames. So, the author's claims are too dependent on the survey and as a result, lacks mettle.

Moreover, the author states that to ameliorate the sales, Whirlwind also introduced an advertising campaign directed to people aged between ten to twenty-five. Yes, an advertising campaign might add to the sales of the video games but does not guarantee it. Had the author mentioned any previous instances leading to a surge in sales, due to the advertising campaigns, it would have bolstered the claims of organizing advertising campaigns. So the author relies only on assumptions and does not provide any facts or figures that would lead to an increase in sales.

Therefore, in conclusion, the author relies only upon absurd assumptions and the claims of the author are supported by tenuous claims. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it would have supported his claims and made the argument well-reasoned and more convincing.