Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The current world is the result of many revolutions, technological advancements and is also ever progressing at a high celerity. In fact, today's world itself is actually driven by big data, and people are trying to come up with innovative ways to handle such huge loads of data, process them efficiently and in feasible time and also store them. Thus with huge amount of data and rich history of events that has resulted in the place we currently live in at our disposal, it is crucial for people to find relevant information pertaining to their work or lives in general as fast as possible. The best possible solution to this is the availability of mass media and internet. Therefore, I agree with the statement that mass media and internet have a positive effect ultimately in helping people obtain information germane to their situation and requirements for the following reasons.

To begin with, our world is very vast and an uncountable number of events happen every day. It is therefore imposible for someone to get to know all this information by themselves. The presence of media is an unfathomable boon that not only provides a gist of the most important events taking place throughout the globe but also covers a wide range of topics ranging from politics to technology to sports to weather. It is a panacea that aids people in staying more vigilant and aware about the world in which they live. This is of extreme use because knowing about the progress of COVID-19, the symptoms of the virus, the advances in discovering a cure for it and in general, how to live a life in such a pandemic is pivotal to all of us and has a direct impact on all our lives. Furthermore, even the most trivial of all matters are available on the internet which people can access just with a click. Thus, there is a place for everyone in this world of media, one who just wants to know the most important global events, one who just wants to know about the recent cricket match's result or one who is interested in every minute detail of the rehabilitation project happening near his locality to quench their thirst for information.

Secondly, the availability of media has also provided everything that one needs in no time. People are more busy than ever and time is viewed tantamount to money. Time is valued so much that in fact that we already have switched from CPUs to GPUs to even TPUs on the computing front. Thus one would not be wrong in claiming that the world is driven by time. In such a world, it is very important for people to be able to access information fast. For instance, one who is interested in knowing about the code to print the Fibonacci series will find it tedious and cumbersome to scourge through an entire comprehensive guide on Python and in fact might even give up at the end. However, with the internet he can just get what he wants to complete his office work, and not focus on the other details like classes in Python which is totally irrelevant to his work. Thus, internet has aided in satisfying the needs of people in no time.

In conclusion, internet has only had a positive effect on our lives. It has made our lives easier.