Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In 1964, Arthur C Clarke predicted,"By the time our children grow up, we will be having computers and devices that can fit on a desk. They will have all the information they need at their fingertips. And they will take it for granted as much as we do the telephone!" Fast forward about 60 years later, and his prescient statement has indeed come to pass. But is this ubiquitous availability of information indeed the golden ticket? Or is it having a negative effect on those who use and have become quite dependent on it? Let us discuss.

First off, we often hear so many sensational statistics and comparisons related to attention span. "The average time a 15 year old can remain focused on a videohas gone down has gone down from 1 minute to a mere 20 seconds!", "Studies show that the information retention capacity of a young adoloscent has precipitated drastically" and so on. This negative spin on lowering attention spans is sometimes aimed directly at the younger generations, implicating them of being less brighter and hard working compared to older generations. Reducing attention spans is a pervasive problem; and there are a glut of statistics and studies backing it up. But does not a lower attention span mean we can collimate our cerebral energy into what is more important and interesting to us, rather than just taking it all in? If we expend all of our concentration span on Shawn Mendes' and Camila Cabello's breakup story, we might end up not giving our much needed attention to things that do matter to us, such as tips on cracking the GRE and ToEFL exams! So, in short shorter attention spans may not be such a big deal as it is made out to be.

Then, we do have the controversial topic of "multi-tasking", claimed to be an excuse to pretend like you have got your hands full, when the reality is probably a dire lack of attention on each one of our "tasks". Admittedly, this is a ubiquitous problem. But so is being too parochial in our approach to gaining knowledge and insight. This is especially so when you are at a young age. Let us consider a bunch of children living in rural areas, attempting to clear the Engineering Entrance Examination. Since this is a difficult exam, the pupils have to live an ascetic life, eschewing internet and other forms of distraction. Many a time, these students clear the entrance examination with flying colours, only to come to the horrific realization that they were never interested in engineering in the first place. They were never really aware of the eclectic opportunities outside engineering, due to the lack of information available to them. On the other hand, there might be a lesser chance of this happening in an urban setting, where children would mostly be keeping abreast of information online, and also have friends and connections through which they can explore the umpteen opportunities out there, and choose what they love.