Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

Mass media and internet are currently imparting many important things in human life. Some of which are negative and some of which are positive. One of effect on peoples attention of mass media is, it causing peoples attention span to get shorter.

We can not describe that this effect is negative or positive, but yes how people use this cause in his daily life obviously make it count.

While surfing through the internet we prone to many sites, social media post, and many other online things. Surfing through the internet we can able to make out what might be content, just by analysing headings or pictorial information. This shortened attention to media news or any post can make difference in our daily life. It is also inferred that those who prone to the large use of internet are less attentive in the real world for some physical involved activity. For example, grasping information from the internet and making a practical decision may not always work in a practical approach. They might face difficulty to do things practically. Excessive use of mass media and internet also cause people to get lazy and also they prone to believe things on the internet which might not 100% worth or true. Like, during online shopping we have just made a decision by visual attention, we are believing the information provided on site without cross-checking it and also we have become so lazy that we might forget that their actual store exists in this world.

On contrary, some positive effect can neutralize negativity of mass media use. Those who use mass media generally get exposed to a huge amount of information that is easily available on the internet. During searching information from such huge data peoples need to be cleaver mind and good analysing capability. But still, we can able to find desired information because we are now habitual to the internet and we can make decisions fast just by overlooking information. This can also help in real life also. While checking huge resource of information we can make spot particular information just because we were habitual to such activities. Mass media might make less focus on particular things but this can be useful in another way that; we are learned to grasp almost all information over the internet and learn to choose particular which we require. Also, exposer to such large information over the internet makes person versatile.

Hence the use of mass media and the internet is positive or negative is totally depends upon once perception and how they use it.