Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

In today's world the social media and the internet have an huge impact on the minds of the people. People have access to a abundant amount of information on the internet and through the media. However, due to ample information available people are not focused on many important issues which needs to be addressed rather they focus their attention to the information which they find interesting. I agree with the author that mass media have caused people's attention to spans to get shorter but I feel that this effect has 2 sides i.e. it has some positive as well as negative impacts.

Firstly, in today's fast paced life people do not much time to go through the detail of every information available. For example, consider news, due to advancements in technology there are many online applications which give access to daily news. So people can get view large amount of news in different sectors within few minutes. But as huge amount of information is available to the users, a user only focuses on the information that interests him or her. For example, there are various issues going on in the society which are needed to be addressed by the people of the society but there are many people who do not care about it and just address those things which interests him.her say entertainment section. This is huge disadvantage of having a lot of information available that people forget or rather do not care of addressing important issues.

Secondly, in the field of education due to ample amount of data which is available across the web, nowadays students do not even think for themselves and just search on the web about the questions they need answers for. For example, I know a school going child who do his homework by just browsing on the internet and writing the answers without even thinking. This is definitely going to affect his performance as he do not even try to solve mathematics sum and just copy which is available on the internet.

Finally, the advent of mass media and the internet have made people alert of what is happening in their surrounding. As the information is available very easily even the people who had no interest in politics, news are now getting access to it. These people go through a lot of information daily and now are getting interested in it.

To sum up, I feel that even if the internet and mass media have huge amount of information available people should not allow their attention span s to get shorter and they should think for themselves by using the internet and mass media.