“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

While in this day and age of the twenty-first century, there has been an explosion of opportunities for the new generation and the demographics of various occupations have changed with time, men and women are still not equally suited for many tasks due to their inherent physical differences. It is these physical differences between men and women which have a major role in the adeptness of one in a given field and hence dictates several decisions as a result of these.

The suitability of one for a specific task is definitely dependent on the physical abilities of the person in question. The above is clearly portrayed in the comparison of the demographic makeup - the ratio of the men to women employed - in various occupations. As an illustration, occupations such as construction are largely male-dominated because this task has a certain physical demand on the employees and hence women cannot undertake such jobs. Another job which clearly represents the inability of women to participate in are the emergency services such as firefighting. Firefighting depends a lot on the physical abilities of the employee and hence it is difficult for women to engage in such tasks. Both of these examples, outline the inability of women to perform certain tasks and hence these occupations are majorly male-dominated.

Another proof which again highlights the different physical requirements is the mining law in several countries where mining operations are carried out. Mining is a highly strenuous and demanding physical activity which needs its participants to be physically strong and fit. Hence, there has been legislature prohibiting the employment of women in mining fields as it is difficult for women to cope up with the dangerous tasks in question. This law has been based on solid empirical evidence that women are not suited to carry out such tasks and consequently it highlights the different needs of different occupations.

Just as women are not capable to carry out certain tasks due to their physical differences, men too are not able to complete certain other tasks as efficiently as women are capable of doing. For example, during the second world war, women were employed in great numbers by the military for carrying out tasks which needed a lot of precision and men were not as capable to carry out the tasks. These precision-based tasks such as assembling weapons and other artillery required a lot of precision and men were not as adept as the women in these tasks. Hence, this illustration again proves to us that women and men do have certain tasks which they are inherently better at performing and this is the way nature has built us human beings.

In conclusion, though men and women have the same DNA and differ by only a single chromosome, this difference of chromosome has huge implications in society around us. As illustrated in the examples above, there are certain occupations which need women to be present and certain occupations which need men. This is a definite result of the physical differences amongst men and women and we need to honour this.