The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.
The culture of any era is defined by a variety of elements and may be the result of past influences.
Analyzing the trends of today's youth is only one of those elements. One also needs to analyze the
kinds of work that adults are pursuing or the activities its senior citizens are participating in. To rely
solely on analysis of youth trends is short-sighted. The youth of a culture are heavily influenced by the
latest, hottest fad. Their greatest need is to fit in, to be cool, and they change their clothes, their hair,
and their phones as soon as the newest fashion is featured in print or on television. Their permanence
is ephemeral, and their influence may be longer lasting. A big chunk of their time would be spent just
keeping up. Anyone attempting to analyze the trends of youth will barely finish before the trends
change.
The most widely-exposed youth culture of the last half century is that of the 1960's and 70's. The
youth of that era advised others to tune in, turn on, and drop out. Drugs, sex and rock and roll
permeated the culture of youth in those decades. Because burning draft cards and bras was so widely
publicized, it would be tempting to believe that all youth behaved in that manner. That would be a
mistake. Despite the presence of SDS chapters, peace rallies and sit-ins on college campuses across
the country, most students quietly went about attending classes, graduating and getting traditional jobs.
The counterculture of the 60's and 70's had its greatest influence on later decades. Those days of
rebellion and revolution led to increased opportunities for minorities and women. The young people
of that era are now nearing retirement and are living lives very different from the senior citizens of
previous generations. They have tuned in, but they have not dropped out. They are healthier, better
educated, and leading more active lives than their parents or grandparents did.
Analysis of youthful trends reveals what effect advertising had on a culture's young people. To fully
understand contemporary culture, one must analyze the hopes, fears, and actions of all the groups that
comprise it. A culture's youth is blissfully ignorant of a culture's realities. The struggle of adults to