The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth

the issue here brings us to a point where we have to debate between trends of youth and elder people, I agree that the best way to understand the culture of any generation is by analyzing it's youth trends.

As it is known that the major part of the population is youth so better look at that part of a group to know more about it, for example we differ generations based on the age groups, parents generation (i.e., ages 30-60) and children (i.e., ages 20-40) generation both are different, so if we want to know the current trends we better look at the younger generation that is from the ages 20- 40 years old (gen Z), it is often said that younger brains create the world so why can't we say that younger people represent the country/world. so it is best to analyze the trends of the youth if one want to understand the contemporary culture.

of course some people might argue that what about the older people, won't they represent the fashion/trends/culture. I would say that yes they also represent the culture only in certain circumstances that is if the people we are considering are adaptable and is always changing their fashion according to the new ways of the world, otherwise no we cannot consider fashion or culture of these people as they represent the culture of the generation before the contemporary or the current generation.

finally in conclusion one would say that it is more agreeable if one consider the trends of the youth to understand the contemporary culture better, rather than taking the culture of the wiser people.