According to a recent report cheating among college and university students is on the rise However Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeav

Given argument states that the cheating is reduced for the past five years since the honor code is in account, but the author fails to say that the cheating is reduced only because of the honor code. The given argument is flawed in many ways

Firstly, Author gives us unwanted assumptions like the only reason behind the decrease in number of students that are cheated is only because of Honor code, it may be due to some other factors like the students might have changed, that is all students are not same, as the generation changes the people also change.

Further, there may be change in education system or syllabus which might have made students study more and therefore less cheating. students might have evolved to me more honest, Here author did not provided any clear knowledge about the changes in education system and teaching system

Exam pattern might have changed which results in less cheating. for example: Questions for each students might be different or there may be different sets of question paper which made students impossible to cheat. Argument fails to say that there is no other changes in Groveton college other than adapting to Honor code. which leaves the reader with unanswered question

Also there may be a change in teaching system and education system, for example: students might give more importance to knowledge rather than running behind percentage or grade points. which in result give students an opportunity to be more honest so no cheating. author fails to give valid points where he can prove that the only reason for less cheating is implementation of honor code.

Finally, Author leaves us with unanswered questions as stated above, and also he provides fallacies, and wrong assumptions about the reason behind the less cheating, Author might have provided more information about the examination/ education system/ teaching system in the Groveton college. And the argument needs more valid points and proofs to rely upon.