In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Imagination can lead to wonders with knowledge as a base. While creativity is the most important skill required to excel in academic profession, knowledge is useful to know the concepts behind the inventions.

To begin with, imagination leads to inventions. New things can only be created when knowledge is applied using creativity of one’s mind. For example, if people had knowledge of how a bird flies. But it was correctly applied by Wright brothers to invent airplane. In the similar way, all the other inventions are a product of imagination. Knowledge is only the base upon which real life applications are built. In the academic front, PHD students do research based on the concepts they learn. If there is only knowledge, no new things will be done.

Furthermore, jobs require people with good creativity skills. A company can only succeed if it brings original things to the market. Each product should be better than the past one. For instance, two candidates appear in a job interview. One has got top grades and the other has mediocre grades but a lot of projects. The company will probably hire the person with practical knowledge. Hands on experience helps in upgrading our minds to think more. With each failure and success, we learn and try to improve on each iterative attempt. Knowing only concepts, it is not possible to know the nuances of the work.

While imagination can lead to new inventions and discoveries, knowledge serves as a backbone for these inventions. It is not possible to directly go to a higher step without completing the lower one. For instance, if a person doesn’t know coding, he cannot make a software. Invention always starts from the basics.

To sum up, imagination is definitely required to succeed. Knowledge takes a backseat when it comes to succeeding in life.