In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than

knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

WHen asked about the secret to his brilliant contributions to physics, the great physicist Richard Feynman remarked, "I was just an ordinary guy who studied hard." The prompt suggests that imagination takes precendence over knowledge in most professions. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the aforementioned statement and will validate my stance with an argument for and two arguments against the claim.

It is true that the impact of creativity and imagination cannot be understated in any domain. This is especially true for fields like physics, maths and creative arts, where originality of thought is what usually makes someone's work stand out. For instance, Albert Einstein's seminal work on Special Relativity had its basis on prior works by Lorentz decades earlier, but what made the Special Theory of Relativity a pioneering contribution was that while Lorentz treated his work as merely a mathematical novelty, Einstein had the ingenious insight to reformulate the equations as the basis for proposing a new theory of Relativity, forever changing our understanding of the universe.

However, creativity would not be of much use if only employed to rediscover known facts, or as they say - "reinvent the wheel". While the influence of creativity in broadening the frontiers of understanding cannot be ignored, prior domain knowledge actually makes a person capable of making new discoveries by building on known information. To quote Isaac Newton - "I was only able to achieve what I did by standing on the shoulders of giants."

Prior knowledge also allows someone to look at a problem in various other perspectives which she would not have been able to think herself. Since each person approaches a given problem with her own insights, collecting domain knowledge saves us from spending time and energy in rethinking new perspectives.

In a nutshell, though no new discovery can be achieved without the requisite imagination and uniqueness of perspective, knowldege of the domain is paramount to broadening the frontiers of knowledge in any domain. PUtting in the extra hours to learn a subject of interest with sincerity and passion allows you to climb the stairs of the tower of knowledge, allowing you to dream of touching the stars.