A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The children of a nation are its future. Education plays vital role in shaping the future of the children. So, it is important to have a curriculum which considers overall development of the children thus making them good citizens. I partially agree with the point stated and would like to share my views on it.

Having one single curriculum across the nation ensures the same syllabus being taught to all children irrespective of their financial background. This creates a sense of equality in the society. As an example, consider student A from rich background and student B from poor background. Under the National curriculum scheme, the basic education imparted to both will be the same and both will be evaluated under the same criteria for college admissions. Thus, providing equal opportunities to all students.

Those children whose parents have a transferable job change their schools more often than other. The main problem being the availability of the course their ward was studying previously in at the new school. Having a national curriculum would maintain the syllabus they study irrespective of the school they enroll in wherever in the country. This would be a big relief for them.

While there are advantages of having a national curriculum there are some disadvantages as well. If an institute wishes to modify the course for the betterment of their students, they won’t be able to do so under the scheme and so the students will not benefit.

Having a National Curriculum may allow for unbiased testing and equal opportunities but it may have its own disadvantages. Every coin has two sides and so does the coin of national curriculum.