A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

I mostly agree with the statement that a nation should require all its students to follow the same national curriculum until they are enrolled in college. In general, the standardized program should be more convenient for the government to manage and at the same time more preferrable for its citizens as it provides them with equal chances to get good education. However, as every learner is individual, the educational trajectory for one can deviate from the common curriculum. For example, for visual learners physics class may be improved by adding to it the video of some physical demonstration.

From my opinion, standardized education is economicably profitable in comparison with non-standardized one. If every school in the country follows the same track, then the amount of published study literature and the rate with which it changes is limited. In this case it does not make sense to re-print the books every year as school libraries can transit them to the future generations of students. One more pleasant feature of standardized education for me is that it is easier to collect analytical data about it. In situation, where everyone passes the universal final test at the end of the school, the ministry of education acquires valuable data: how effectively the program works with regard to region or the year. In the case of non-standardized education similar data would be missing or would be incomplete.

However, the same curriculum doesn't mean that every class in every town is absolutely identical. Every teacher can follow the course with slight modifications to increase the efficiency of learning process. Also the curriclum may include a number of optional choices to satisfy the demands of every student. For those who wants to dig into the subject more deeply there can be facultative programs availiable in the region. Also competitive atmosphere may be created adding olympiads for learners: this will increase their motivation to study actively.

It is also of utmost importance to account for needs of those who can not follow the curriculum in its common form for any reason. This may be the case for people with mental disabilities, for example. Curriculum should be flexible and soft enough to allow anyone to pass through it. If one is having problems working with the default curriculum, then modified options of educational material, optimal for him, should be created for him.

To summarize, I think that 'one for them all' curriculum is the good decision on government level. It helps government to know its citizens more and to educate them more efficiently. In individual cases this curriculum should adapt for people's need: this opportunity should be embedded in this course from the very beginning.