A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree that any nation should require that all students study the same national curriculum until college. It is possible; of course, that a majority of students would succeed under this strict requirement, but it is not the best choice, by any means. The concerns I have are for the students, the country’s economy, and the happiness and health of all the citizens.

The first concern is for students with any sort of disadvantage, such as learning differences or different first language. Certain students will need extra help or different focus in order to succeed at school. A student who has dyslexia, for example, will need special training and accommodations in order to learn to read. This particular student may need to miss history class or music class during the crucial elementary years when children learn to read. Without these special classes, this student will likely struggle for his or her entire educational career. A student who enters school speaking a foreign language will also need extra help in order to succeed. A bilingual education or special classes for non-native speakers will help this student succeed at school.

Secondly, it is better for the country to have students graduate with a variety of skills. Not every citizen will go on to college and so high school graduates represent a large portion of the population. These citizens must have a variety of skills for an economy is healthiest when it has a variety of jobs available. For example, a country that has only farmers is in danger of a drought severely harming its population. However, if that same country has farmers, tech companies, factories, tourist attractions (such as hotels, amusement parks, restaurants, and etc.), then a draught will less severely affect the economy. The jobs listed previously did not require a college education, and so could be done by high school graduates.

Concerning college students, it is better if those students have the opportunity to begin thinking about their interests in high school. Perhaps one student thinks she is very interested in counseling, so she takes an intro to psychology class in high school. She doesn’t enjoy it. The following semester she takes a course in computer programming and the semester after that she takes a course in calculus. She discover that she loves math and once she reaches college pursues a career in computer programming. Not only she is able to begin at college studying a higher level of math than she would have without that introductory course, but she doesn’t waste time by stating her major as social work from the start.

In addition to simply thinking about jobs and earning money, other concerns must be taken into account as well. The purpose of a quality education is not only to produce students who know their multiplication tables and have a sonnet or two memorized, but also to mold kind, hard-working, happy adults. In this matter, I do agree that certain subjects should be mandatory. Courses in ethics and civics should be required for all students. In addition, courses that keep students healthy, such as P.E. and sex education should be required. And finally, courses that prepare students for adult life and teach them the skills of cooking, financial planning, job hunting, and so forth should be required.

In conclusion, although some course should be mandatory, we can see for a number of reasons, the health of the students, the health of the country’s economy, that students should be given some freedom in choosing their subjects in the elementary through high school years.