A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not common knowledge to most but it is a fact that the United States was the first nation in history to make public schooling compulsory for all. The justification for this pioneering policy was the recognition that an educated populace is, in general, better off. Now that public education is ubiquitous, domestically and globally, our nation must take further steps to ensure that our valuation of education progresses with the times. As such, I agree that this nation, as well as others, should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college.

The education system, in the US, is compulsory from Pre-K up to Grade 12. Essentially, one could reasonably expect that a majority of the nation was educated for at least twelve years. However, other than assumptions based on invested time, there is no way of measuring the effectiveness or impact of this education. With a standardized curriculum, there would be a clearer baseline of knowledge for all students within the United States. Higher educators, as well as employers, could, to a certain extent, expect that former students are educated in certain standard topics such as algebra and language skills. Without it, the point of a degree – being the reflection of one’s knowledge – is called into question. If the substance behind a degree cannot be compared against some reasonably universal standard, than the degree itself becomes reduced to a piece of paper. A national curriculum would therefore stand as a guarantee to all that a former student is knowledgeable in certain standard topics.

Furthermore, a national curriculum, assuming its adoption would be accompanied by necessary support, would help equalize the inherent educational inequalities that exist theoughout different regions of the nation. A relatively wealthy area, such as Beverly Hills, may have incredible educational standards compared to say Topeka, Kansas. A national curriculum would ensure, by promising students a clear goal in their education, that those students who may not have access to higher-paid teachers or more abundant teaching materials would have an equal chance to achieve academic success. A national curriculum, in this case, would allow citizens to expect and demand a concrete plan moving forward in ensuring equal education of all.

Some may say that a national curriculum would drag down the standard of education for those who can access higher standards, notably those who may be able to afford privatized education. Though this argument may be valid, it ignores the need of the many for the advantage of the few. A national standard may, at forst, seem disadvantageous for some but one cannot look at education as a static being. The curriculum will have to evolve with the times but a nation must then ensure that higher standards of education are accessible for ALL students within a nation, not only those with the privilege to access it. A national standard would turn higher educational standards into a goal for the entire nation.

A national curriculum is thus necessary for the evolution of a nation’s general education. It would work to ensure that a populace grows in knowledge together, for one another.