A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

The issue presented in the prompt is an incredibly contentious one. The idea of adopting a homogenous curriculum in all schools across a nation is a tempting idea, but if applied, it can be met with various repercussions. Hence, I partially agree with this idea, due to the fact that uniformity can help provide every student with the opportunity to compete with the rest of the world. On the other hand, the cultural values of the locality have to be taken into consideration before sanctioning such an undertaking.

To begin with, the implications of adopting a uniform curriculum in all schools will help in providing every student with the same opportunity across the country. Due to the competitive nature of the modern society, an individual may attribute his failure to achieve his goals to the fact that he has not been provided with the same education as the other person. For instance, in a country like India, due to the financial disparity between the rich and the poor, poor people usually tend to educate their children in public schools, while the rich send their children to privately run institutions. The curricula in the public and private schools are extremely different, with the private schools providing higher quality education to its pupils. A student graduating from a public school might not be able to attend college and might attribute this to the fact that he was not provided with ample opportunities to develop the skills required to get into a university. Hence, by introducing a uniform curriculum, such students would also be benefitted from equal opportunity to excel in the university.

On the other hand, since diversity exists in every country, adopting a homogenous curriculum could have unfortunate repercussions. If a uniform curriculum is applied without considering the cultural values extant in a particular region of a country, it might be deleterious to the culture, leading to its extinction. For example, if a country is not monolingual and if each of its provinces speaks a different language, adopting a curriculum that does not teach the local language can lead to its extinction. Hence, to prevent the loss of ancient cultures and traditions, it would not be wise to adopt a uniform curriculum that excludes provincial cultural values.

Overall, this topic is definitely a subject of concern and has to be dealt with utter care. It might prove beneficial to the country if a compromise is reached which not helps in providing its younger generation with the required skills, but also preserves the local values.