Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The ecological balance of the planet has to be maintained for the earth to continue sustaining life. The prompt has presented a claim in favor of this fact, hence, I completely agree with it and argue that lawmakers have to bring in stringent measures to protect the declining biodiversity.

To begin with, the increasing human activities have had a debilitating effect on the climate of the planet. This has not positively impacted the biosphere. For instance, before the arrival of democracy, most countries on the planet was governed by monarchial governments. The kings who ruled these countries hunted many species of fauna into extinction. This affected the food chain that these animals were part of and led to the extinction of other animals belonging to the food chain. This disruption, hence, can ultimately lead to the destruction of the biosphere. These types of activities have not been completely stopped over time. Hence lawmakers as responsible leaders of the modern world, have to pass laws to prevent such extinctions, which can help in stabilizing the ecosystem.

Further, laws help the citizens of a country to lead peaceful and just lives. Without laws, a society can be pushed into anarchy. For example, during recent times the parliament of India passed a law that prevents the thorough analysis of a candidate's background before he appears for legislative elections. Due to this parliament is now filled with criminals who do not have any sense of righteousness and have no characteristics that are expected of a lawmaker. If the lawmakers themselves are criminals, the state of a country is impossible to imagine. The same thing can be applied to biodiversity. If nature is not conserved by strict laws, the citizens might destroy it and ruin things for future generations.

However, one might argue that human interference with the natural way of functioning of nature might hamper with the evolutionary processes existent in the ecosystem. For example, isolating a group of animals from the rest of the planet may make them susceptible to various diseases, leading to their deaths. This causal effect is not as debilitating as evil men destroying the biodiversity. Hence, nations should make laws to protect the environment at all costs to prevent the loss of biodiversity.