A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The type of education a student receives is critical for their success in further education. Colleges don’t accept all individuals, they have to meet certain requirements. The courses taken in high school are essential for college acceptances. A nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college for various reasons.

First, I think it is important to consider the fact that some students are advanced and others are not. If all the classes are the same, does this mean they will be all at a basic level or at an advance level? If the curriculum is a basic level, the students who tend to be more advanced will not be challenged enough. Similarly, if the curriculum is advance, it will be difficult for a majority of students to keep up with the learning. Not all curriculum fits all.

Furthermore, if the curriculum is the same for everyone, every student will be the same. The only difference between students would be their extra curricular activities. If students will be applying to college, it is important that they stand out and have their own individuality. Nowadays, it is college is more competitive and it is important for each applicant to stand out and be accepted.

Lastly, it is important for students to explore different courses for them to know what they like and would like to pursue as a career. If all the subjects required in a certain curriculum are not as diverse then it would be difficult for students to explore other fields. For example, if a curriculum does not include a health class, how would a student be exposed to that type of field if they have never heard or learned more about it.

In conclusion, nationwide students should not be required to take the same curriculum. Although some may think that having a set curriculum will have all students at a certain stand, it is critical to consider other disadvantages. It is important for students to be challenged individually and to be able to explore other areas for growth and interest in their own career.