"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree to a certain extent with this recommendation. The statement of my agreement is qualified with 'to a certain extent' for the two following reasons. Firstly, I believe in allowing some latitude with regards to choice of coursework for students. And secondly, I agree with the recommendation only to the extent that the national curriculum includes core subjects such as math, humanities, and science. But overall, I do believe that a largely standardized curriculum at the national level is desirable.

Firstly, requiring students to study the same national curriculum greatly increases the chances that they will be introduced to a variety of subjects--some of which they may ultimately wish to further pursue. Ensuring that students have been exposed to a multitude of subjects ensures that their choice in college-major will be well-informed. A student might choose to not major in mathematics because she had little-to-no exposure to the subject at the k-12 level. However, she might have a passion for mathematics that would have been discovered had she had such an exposure.

Secondly, requiring students to study the same core subjects in mathematics, science, and the humanities ensures that students will be well-prepared to engage in higher learning in whatever field they choose to study at the college-level. A student might ultimately plump for a major which has little-to-nothing to do with some subjects for which they were required to do extensive studying at the k-12 level; however, many subjects require knowledge from other fields. For example, the sciences--from sociology to theoretical physics--require knowledge in mathematics.

Thirdly, giving student some latitude to explore their passion--even in high school, will ultimately do them good. Many students ultimately plump for the subjects they were most passionate about in high school. So, ensuring that they have greater exposure to these fields during high school will allow them to explore these greater depth in college, since they already had much exposure to these subjects in high school.

For the foregoing three reasons, I agree to a certain extent with the recommendation. However, I must re-emphasize the caveat alluded to in the first paragraph: I agree with the recommendation only to the extent that a national curriculum includes core subjects such as math, humanities, and science.