Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some may believe that government officials should base their decisions on their own judgment, since the wishes and preferences of their constituents may imperil the country if actualized. However, it is more important that government officials carry out the will of the people they serve.

Firstly, by carrying out the will of the people, government officials ensure that the right of a people to self-determination is respected. If government officials ignore the will of the people and make decisions based on their own judgment, then the right of a people to decide and plan their own lives will be lost. For example, people living under a dictator who makes rules according to his/her own whim do not enjoy the right to self-determination. In short, ensuring a carrying out the will of the people is the best way for government officals to ensure that the right of a people to self-determination is not violated.

Furthermore, carrying out the will of the people ensures that government officials are less liable to make policy according to their own selfish preferences. For example, public policy polling in the United States suggests widespread support for commonsense gun-control. However, many politicians vote against such measures because they want to ensure funding for the political compaign from certain donors. As a result, guns are still too easily accessible, and gun violence remains a huge issue. By carrying out the will of the people, government officials will ensure that they make sound policy according to their constituents wishes.

Someone might object that government officials need to make decisions based on their technical know-how instead of the will of the people they serve. Government officials often possess knowledge in fields such as international relations or economics that are rarely possessed by the people the serve. So, government officials should follow their own judgemnt in making decisions rather than carry out the will of the people.

However, what this objection fails to recognize is that government officicals are often elected beacuse of their technical knowledge. The people they serve often elect government officals in order to put the knowledge they possess in these fields to use. So, by exercizing their specialized knowledge, government officials are typically carrying out the will of the people.

In conclusion, it may seem reasonable to hold that government officials should follow their own judgment rather than carry out the will of the people because they possess knowledge that the people they serve typically do not. However, government officials should ensure that they carry out the will of the people for the reasons given above.