"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A nation's future politicians, laborers, artists, musicians, and accountants are all made in the classroom. The foundation of a nation is something that should be not subjected to the whims of one person or even a particular region; the price is too high. A centralized curriculum, that emphasises a well rounded education, devoid of interference from any one person or ideology gives all students, regardless of background, the best chance of learning and academic success That is why I believe that all students, in any given nation, should be formed and educated under a standardized national curriculum.

Standardization grants multiple advantages to an academic experience of a nation's young minds. The equal measure of academics can lead to accurate stratification of a nation's children in future professional careers. From roughly the age of 6 until 18, students would be subjected to the same curriculum, and with it testing, would be a clear indicator of what students should be destined for college and what others should, perhaps go down different paths. All nations need lawyers, as well as plumbers and construction workers. By leveling the academic playing field, a nation can stratify and understand who would be best suited for what jobs, with over 10 years of aggregrated academic data.

Equal measure of academics does more than inherently level the academic playing field; it also levels the socio-economic one. Nations can be made up of vast expanses of land and extremely diverse peoples. A student from a extremely urbanized city center, should have as close to the same academic experience as somewhere from a rural countryside. A standardized national curriculum would expose both of these disparate examples to the same well-rounded academic experience and give both as fair a chance as possible to academically succeed.

As aforementioned, standardization would also serve to 'level the bubble' in terms of our nation's teachers. It is a fact of life that people, and indeed teachers, prefer one subject over another. This fact can lead to inherent biases amongst teachers who want to focus more time and energy on one subject over another. A national curriculum would help to balance the curriculum, and make for a more well rounded student.

Standardization, for all of its benefits, does have some inate disadvantages. Rigidity in the curriculum could serve to styme creativity amongst students. All students learn and digest academic material differently; this is true amongst adults as well. While standardized in curriculum, however, the average teacher will be able to instruct and teach the material how he or she sees fit. A curriculum serves more as a framework, with the teacher actually instructing and being where 'the rubber meets the road'. And this is why what to teach is something that should be decided at a national level.

Standardization is by no means a perfect solution to confront the challenge of shaping and invigorating a nation's young minds, but it is the best option available. College is the next level, where academically successful students can start to specialize and hone in on their particular field of study. With proper implementation, and adapation, a standardized national curriculum would serve to create the best future citizens of a nation.