A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

I completely agree with this statement.

Providing each student of a nation with the same national curriculum till they enter college will create a foundation under their feet whose every nook and corner will be same for everybody. In countries like USA and UK where English is spoken everywhere there cannot arise any situation like non-homogeneity regarding 'medium of language' in imparting the education to the students. Whereas in India where different languages are spoken in different states, following a same national curriculum can be very challenging.

In Bangladesh there are multiple curricula running for the students. Apart from the main stream education whose medium is Bengali or Bangla, there are two other significant curricula-one for students who are taughrt in Madrashahs(schools run by muslim clerics) and another is GCE 'O level ' and CGE 'A level' run by the affluent people of the society.

It is a fact that students who go to madrashahs are relatively poor and they are taught books which are solely directed in framing their mind with Quaranic explanation of the world. Its even found that they are not even taught the national anthem and are provided with a partial or unclear view of the world, its other different religions, their viewpoints etc. It is a problem that whenever one single national curriculum is tried to follow, clerics of many religion act as stalwarts against implementing universal education. Notwithstanding the vastness of their curriculum's content, the students of English medium schools (GCE 'O, and GCE 'A' levels)of Bangladesh also are found not to know the national anthem of Bangladesh, with negative notions about anything related to Bangla.

Following same national curriculum can be useful in finding decent jobs for students who are otherwise from different backgrounds. It is expected that if same curriculum could have been followed in countries like Bangladesh, narrow mindsets would not have formed which is detrimental for a nation's build-up and the integration of its people.