To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

I am taking a middleground while writing a response to above statement. Also I need to mention that by the term 'characteristics of a society' I assume characteristics that belong to a society of a country.

Due to globalization and unbounded advancement of technology there is hardly any country on the earth which has not been influenced by these two. Developed countries have been able to keep their social structures, moral values, norms, rituals and other elements of society intact amidst this global change. The city of New York has experienced the diaspora of immigrants for a long time and thus is constituted of a heterogeneous structure. On the contrary the developing and poor nations have adopted haphazard modernization and in this process their social characteristics have been shattered. If somebody wants to know what kind of society Bangladeshi people live in, he or she just cannot restrict him/herself by travelling major cities of Bangladesh like Dhaka, Chittagong etc. One has to travel its villages, small town to know how their people dress, what they eat, which rituals they follow, whether they mingle with the minorities or not, how they impart justice to socially committed blunders.

Knowing social characteristics is not only viewing worn out edifices with amazing architectures, which shows a nation's(like Greece, Italy) aesthetic sense, civilized past and a great legacy of classiness for its posterities. Major cities of developing or poor countries are mere concrete jungles. People's values are lost here in this maze . In support of the statement of this issue-task will be examples of the major cities of countries like India which are steeped in history, multi-religious culture, social values, cosmopolitanism.

So if there are more than 200 countries in this world, and we have to learn their social standards, we cannot confine ourselves into knowing their major cities. Rather we should also consider studying their calmer and quieter small towns and villages.