A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Right to education is a fundamental right of every individual in this society. To impart this right in the most meaningful sense, nations spend a lot in determining what curriculum would be the best for all the students. I agree to the statement that the same national curriculum should be set for all the students till they reach college.

Firstly, studying the same curriculum would help in ensuring the right to equality for all the students. It would help in installing a sense in them that irrespective of which institution they go to and from which place they belong to, they are being given the same education that their fellow friend is receiving at a different place. Since, the curriculum is the same, the infrastructure to be provided for imparting it would also be the same.

Secondly, this would also help in ensuring that a student irrespective of which strata of the society he belongs to would get the same privilege in a nation. The families that lack the resources to send their children at a good school can put their worries on hold to a good extent. Same national curriculum would help in standardizing infrastructure costs across states and thus keep the fees structure within limits. Thus, ensuring uniformity in terms of both expenditures and facilities provided.

However, every human has a different area of interest and skill-set. Same curriculum can leave the focus on only few areas and neglecting the others. Same curriculum would mean that the college students would be judged on the same criteria. In such cases, students weak in areas listed in the curriculum would suffer even though they may have a skill-set and a tendency to develop an expertise in a field which has not yet been sought after. They would then be bound to spend years on a subject which is of no interest to them. Though, having the same question set would ensure no biases, equal opportunities and a fair chance to each one for the college entrance.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that imparting same national education would help in giving everyone an equal opportunity to excel. A good mix of uniformity and the willingness to study among all without pressure of the society is what a national curriculum should bring forth.