Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager of a television station has recommended that the declining advertisement revenues can be restored by dedicating the late-night slot back to the weather and local news. The argument is flawed for several reasons, a few of which have been mentioned below.

Firstly, the station needs to identify the category of late-night viewership. They need to identify the interest of these people, whether they would be interested more in weather and local news or on national news. The stations late-night viewers may be limited to a group of fanatics who are only interested in a subject. Hence, they may not also not be interested the advertisements aired during that period eventually not benefitting the local businesses.

Secondly, the national news aired might not be as accurate as the local news and weather report that the station airs. The station's popularity may be limited to the local audience of a region who might have lauded the station for its good coverage. However, at the national level the station might not have the necessary sources to obtain good coverage. There might be other national stations being broadcasted in the region which might be more known to the people and trustworthy. Because of which the need to watch the stations report at a late-night hour may not be that enticing for its viewers.

Also, the argument fails to list the local events that have occurred during the past year. The region might have gone through an economic, political or a natural mis happening during this time and the stations unwillingness to focus on the same and giving national coverage more importance may have resulting in the viewers change of sentiment for the television station. Thus, leading to the station losing its membership. During this period the local businesses might also have suffered and thus may not have the costs to continue with the advertisements as previously done. The company would then have to seek other local businesses who have the resources and willingness to pay for such costs.

The business manager should consider the above listed factors also in mind before taking a decision on the restoring the time to weather and local news. To strengthen and give the decision a boost, other factors that the station might have to implement in order to restore back the lost viewership should also be considered.