A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The issue at hand is accompanied with considerable complexities, and any position taken is definitely littered with its own advantages and disadvantages. However, I am making a case to say yes, students should be required to study a national curriculum until they enter college. Generally, at such an early age people rarely know what they want in the long run, also, there is considarable need for individuals who are not oblivious of art at the expense of science nor vice versa. It is on this ground that I am agreeing with the position.

Firstly, students need to be exposed to options in order to know which one is good for them. Early specialization might result is wrong choices and the blame might be on the fact that "I didn't know such option existed." Even at the graduate school level, we still have his fundamental philosophy at play when in the first year of a PhD education all intakes are required to study same courses. This further stress the importance of common knowledge in society. If students are allowed the option of doing all as defined in a national curriculum, it will inform a better choice of specialization in college.

Secondly, as society becomes more complex and the thin-line between what is required of scientist and a journalist continues to fade, the need for individuals to possess at least a minimum knowledge of all field possible begins to rise. If students are therefore mandated to follow a curriculum that encourages only specific knowledge early on, it might deprive them of the golden opportunity to learn about the dynamics of functioning in a complex society. Students therefore, should be allowed to follow a national curriculum until college.

An opposing view might want to claim the statistics of Malcom Gladwell that says it requires approximately 10,000 hours to become an expert in a field of study. This view will be immediately flawed on arrival however. Take for example, I have switched from three different career in a space of 5 years, while I might not have become stella in any of this field, I have made a mark and added unequal experience that made me ready to properly function as an entreprenur which is the ultimate goal.

In light of the foregoing, it is a great idea to allow stuedents focus on the national curicullum while they specialize at the college level. This will allow them to be aware of options avalialble and give room for general knowledge needed to function in a complex society.