"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The major concern for the business manager here is declining revenue. According to the manager the decline is caused by the type of program the television station hosts - national news. To increase revenue again relative to the past, the manager then concludes on the need to need to increase weather and local news broadcast. This conlusion will weakened if

(1) The declining revenue is due to ther factors beyond the TV shows e.g. advertising revenue might be shifting to the internet.

(2) If the viewers who have given feedback are not representative of the population, the remaining revenue might be erroded from their coffers.

Let me stresss this points futher.

Firstly, declining revenue can be due to a number of factors beyond the kind of TV shows the station broadcasts. While there might be correlation between viewers concerns and the declining revenue, it would be wrong to conclude causation. Other reasons that might be responsible include advert on the internet, advert on other media piece, general decline in advertisement spending of the clients and more. To strenghten the conclusion, the manager will need to establish the readiness of the clients to spend more if TV viewership increases.

Secondly, the manager only mentioned concerns of viewers. It may not be a good business decision to base the strategy of the business on the premise of a couple of concerns raised by viewers except such viewers are representative of the entire population of the station. If decision is made on this premise, the remaining advertising revenue may be erroded. This will be the case if the majority of the viewers still prefer national news to other options and it is only the minority that are concerned.

In conclusion, the manager is right to be concerned about declining revenue but may be wrong to base his/her strategy on the erstwhile premises. To have a strong conclusion the major issues of whether advertisement revenue is being directed to other media space and not to other television station will need to be addressed. Two, whether the number of the viewers making thier concerns known is sufficient to make conclusion for the viewership population. Answers to these issues will help strenthen or weaken the conlusion and hence forge a way forward.