A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I agree with the author's statement that all the students should have the same curriculum before they enter college primarily because this proposal serves a dual purpose, it reduces the current complexity which a country faces from designing of the curriculum to managing the end results and it also helps students by establishing a common merit scale on which students can analyze their performance as well as encourage knowledge sharing among students of any school in any other state.

First, Same national curriculum brings a standard ranking system which is not only comparatively easy to manage for a nation but it'll be effective as well. For instance, there will be approx 10 lakh students in a particular standard in India, if we consider the seperate curriculum, there will be seperate study material, notes and various sets of examination papers which are to be evaluated. This activity consumes a lot of time & is prone to errors. Another advantage that we get is there will be a common merit system which will act as a straight forward criteria for college admissions. This argument in some cases will be act against a batch of students who are very clear about what field they want to get into and for the same they want to take some additional electives & get an edge for college admissions.

Secondly, common national curriculum also provides a better benchmark for the students to learn. Along with benchmark, it develops an etiquette of knowledge sharing among the students. For example, if there are 20 students in a school following a particular unique curriculum , the benchmark student for the notes or any sort of explaination will be the topper among these 20 students. On the other side, if there are 2 lakh students studying the same curriculum and using social media for sharing of materials is trending, students get better benchmarks and an opportunity to connect across the nation with other students which results in comraderie.

Third, this proposal brings the ease for national employment schemes as well, teachers can switch to schools across the country and give their 100 % to the students. their can be internal job postings via which teachers can switch jobs.

Concluding, i acknowledge the fact that this will have disadvantage for the students who have their interest defined and want to get focussed to specific subjects from the beginning and nation will not provide that flexibility but here advantages of having common curriculum are more and definitely weigh more than the cons mentioned.