Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the fervent modernization of our world, the action of humans have had patently detrimental effects on our planet. In order to prevent the exacerbation of these effects in the future, I agree that nations should pass laws in order to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state. Although these areas could be developed for economic gain, I believe as a nation we should be assiduous in our fight to preserve what is left of our home’s natural state.

The wilderness of our magnificent planet is breathtaking; it represents beauty and freedom. From hummingbirds dashing from flower to flower to the common deer roaming the forest, many extraordinary creatures call the wilderness home and have inhabited these environments since long before humans established dominance. Even before Lewis and Clark settled in America and were fascinated by the scintillating beauty of their new home, the Native Americans had been awestruck by the florid wonder of nature for decades. Although much of our world has become modernized, many still share veneration and love for nature and the wilderness, untouched from the ever-expanding hand of economic development. Vast plains and cavernous mountains offer an escape from the modern world unlike anything else, and many share the view that these natural works of art should be protected.

While there are certainly those who selfishly feel that the wilderness should be preserved in its natural state for their own benefit, most argue that nature must be shielded from economic development also to protect the flora and fauna that reside there. While humans are able to speak for themselves, the plants and animals of the wilderness do not have a voice. They cannot demur the detriment of their home; they cannot assist in the effort to protect it. I, along with many others, feel it is our moral obligation as humans to stand up for those who cannot do so for themselves. This includes those who call the wilderness their home.

There are several poor consequences that would occur as a result of the development of urban neighborhoods and shops in wild areas. The main outcome of such development would be the loss of habitat of the creatures that reside in these environments. This is an acute effect of construction and advancement into unclaimed environments that is often overlooked. Another consequence of development in areas that are currently devoted to nature is that those regions would no longer be available for outdoor enjoyment; avid outdoor adventurers would no longer be able to utilize those areas for activities such as hiking, fishing, or even nature walks, with the simple goal of appreciating its beauty.

Ultimately, I strongly support the speaker’s claim that we, as a nation, must strive to protect the remaining wilderness areas of our planet in their natural habitat, even if development of these regions would further the economic interests of some.