The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the director of student housing provides a number of cogent arguments for why additional on-campus housing is necessary for students at Buckingham College in the coming future, more evidence needs to be collected in order to evaluate the recommendation and determine its efficacy.

The author begins his letter with the assertion that increased housing must be built to account for the doubling in student population that Buckingham will observe over the next 50 years. While this statement is sensible on the surface, more evidence must be provided to determine if housing in the coming years will be as scanty as the speaker presumes. First, it would be useful to know the percentage of Buckingham’s students that reside in the dorms each year. If studies showed that, while the number of students attending Buckingham college had indeed increased in past years, the percentage of students utilizing on-campus housing remained relatively the same, this would infer that the population increase was mainly due to students who lived off campus. This finding would enervate the authors claim that additional housing is necessary at Buckingham College. Moreover, supporting information detailing the growth rate of students at Buckingham would be necessary to corroborate the authors argument. If this information were obtained and revealed a similar rate of student population growth over the 50 years prior to this letter, and it were discovered that no additional dorms were developed during this time, the speaker’s assertion that on-campus housing in the coming years would be proven inadequate and feeble.

Additionally, subsequent information would need to be obtained providing details of the housing statistics of students both on and off-campus. Since the author claims that an increase in the average price of an apartment near campus would affect the ability of the students to find off-campus housing, it would be necessary to know the percentage of students at Buckingham College that utilize on campus housing versus those that rent apartments versus other housing options, such as houses or condos. It would also be helpful to understand the cause of the increased apartment rent. If the majority of students actually live on campus, off-campus apartment pricing would not affect most of Buckingham’s students. Furthermore, if statistics revealed that the overwhelming majority of off-campus students reside in houses, rather than apartments, or that the number of students choosing to live in homes rather than apartments has increased from previous years, the author’s statement that increased apartment pricing justifies the development of additional on-campus dorms is nugatory. Lastly, if studies showed that the increase in average apartment rent was a result of inflation, and that the average salary for students at and surrounding Buckingham College increased commensurately, the speaker’s assertion that increased apartment pricing results in increased difficulty for students to find off-campus housing would be cursory and unwarranted.

Finally, the author of the provided letter claims that novel dorms on campus would result in an increase in enrollment at Buckingham College. For this statement to be evaluated, historical records of development at Buckingham in previous years would need to be provided; this information would help to determine if there is any truth to the speaker’s statement. If in past years, additional housing was built on campus and there was in fact a subsequent rise in enrollment at the University, this information would bolster the author’s claim (provided that no additional changes were made to Buckingham College that year, of course).

Overall, although the director of student housing at Buckingham College offered several supporting arguments for the installment of additional on-campus housing for students, more evidence would need to be obtained to evaluate the efficacy of the claim that current dorm housing is inadequate and that additional housing would result in increased student enrollment at Buckingham College.