Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

It is almost universally accepted as a politically correct principle that whenever economy is in contradiction with natural resources reservation, the former should unconditionally recede to the latter. Considering the statement, it seems one should spare no effort to draw an abrupt conclusion that the corresponding laws and regulations should be executed to protect the wilderness even if there are some potential economic privileges. However, when thinking about this question, some specific conditions should take into considerations and their corresponding consequences should be evaluated as well. Different areas of diversified economic status quo may take different strategies to deal with this question.

If one area is comparatively less developed and economically falling behind, to boost local development and enhance the living standards should be considered by the local authorities as the first priority. If there are some possibilites that the local natural resources can be utilized as the offset for economic welfare, it is possible for the local government to initiate the development scheme. Thus, it becomes unnecessary to enforce a law to dogmatically protect the local wilderness. Take some areas in Inner Mongolia for example. Covering vast open areas in north China, Inner Mongolia was famous for its natural resources as pastures, forests and grasslands, while its local people were living in comparatively unsatisfactory conditions. In the late 1990s, the local government decided to develop the tourism industry and started to build travelling resorts. With the injection of investments looking for prospective profits and the arrival of visitors attracted by the appalling natural sceneries, local people's financial conditions started to improve, while the development changed the ecological system to some yet controllable extent.

However, if the local economic condition is already affluent and it is not so urgent to exploit the local wilderness for the exchange of economic benefits, the implementation of such laws for better natural reservations might be necessary. Yet, still, one needs to disinterestedly evaluate the local conditions, to see if it is possible to balance between the economic progress and natural sources reservation.

For example, as for big cities like New York, whose economic structure has become comparatively comprehensive and stable, the economic returns from exploiting the remaining wilderness, for instance, the Central Park, would be not only limited but also unnecessary, as it would only contribute little to the already active economy.

But for developing cities, if the development scheme can balance the reservations of the wilderness and reduce the side-effects to the local ecology system, it is still recommended to initiate the development. There are several successful cases in China, one of which is the development of Qixi, a suburb district close to Hangzhou, the capital city of Zhejiang Province. Its wetlands have been developed into natural parks and travelling resorts for tourists to spend their holidays and won tremendous success. One thing needs to mention, in 2010, after the release of a boxing-hit movie shot in Qixi, its popularity has thus enhanced and more people together with increasing revenue swarmed into the territory. Now, Qixi remains a beautiful natural park of wetland, and visitors can sail on boats to experience the wilderness, to spend some nights in local five-star hotels and to enjoy the starry night with breeze winds.

To sum up, when considering if it is necessary to implement laws to protect all the natural wilderness when there are some chances for local financial development, the specific conditions should be taken into consideration. To preserve the natural resources is politically correct, but it is not necessarily contradicting the local development. Economic progress sometimes can be mutually beneficial to natural reservations.