Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

The fast develpment of technology in the 21th century undoubtedly changed people's traditions of life and study. It is no wonder that a lot of controversies arise since the widespread of smartphone, a device more than a conventional phone which can be embedded with numerous other applications of various functions to aid its owner to complete different tasks. As for the question whether parents should forbid young children from owning smart phones, I believe it is for young children's most benefits to forbid them from owning smartphones.

First, nowadays young children are so easily addicted to smartphone games and social media websites that lots of them glue their heads to the devices and they started to spare no time for academic study and outdoor activities. Some parents complain that when their childeren own smartphones, they spend hours and hours playing the online games or chatting with their friends. One of my students spent almost 10 hours per day playing smartphone games in bed during the summer holidays and he even rarely went out of his room. After one summer, he lost a lot of weight and became obviously ill. Thus, we can see, once a child owns his/her smartphone, it is more possible that the device is used for entertainment other than the good intention parents hoped for.

However, some parents might argue, it is necessary for them to keep in touch with their children and with smartphones, if there is any emergency, they can contact their children immediately so that the convenience and safety of life can be guaranteed. The truth is, nowadays, people have become too reliant on the edged technologies that they have forgot numerous old yet effective technologies are still ideal options for them. To complete the function of keeping in touch with their children, other than iPhone X or Samsung smartphones, a quaint model from NOKIA, with the simple functions of calling and sending messages, can also meet the requirements.

Yet, the sturbon parents keep arguing, "What about keep in touch in school and teachers? Now, school are heavliy relying on WhatsApp sending notice and assginments to students in groups so that they can be informed immediately. Without using a smartphone, my child will feel isolated of his peers." Certainly, we have to admit such phenomenon is predominant among schools and students, but it does not justify smartphones become the only option for students keep in touch with schools. As the NOKIA phones mentioned before, why do people forget we have the great invention of email, which can guarantee efficiency while making people feel less stressful since they are not expected to reply immdiately.

To sum, for young children, they still have lots of other options when the function of keeping in touch with parents and schools is required. Since young people's addiction to mobilephones is a universial problem, we should be wary of such potientials when our children own one smartphone. Therefore, whenever it is possible, do not buy your children a mobilephone until s/he is old enough to resist the lures brought by this device.