Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

When talking about the beggers on the street, some people will give out a dispiteful look and unabashly criticize the beggers' laziness as if they are equal subjects like anyone else who can choose to work to earn their lives, but they prefer not to. If we draw such a simple conclusion like this and insist to show little sympathy to the beggers on the street, we might refuse to give them coins when encountering them any more. It might lead to some serious misunderstanding and, to be honest, it is unfair to them. I think, when possible, it is better to spare some pocket money to the beggers to show some mercy.

Beggers are left over on the street for some reasons. We have to admit, if the life condition is avaible, no one wants to end up in such a way. In fact, some beggers lead terrible lives majorly due to the fact that they are deprived of the ability to work as normal workforce--some beggers are disabled. I am not sure if you have noticed, some beggers kneeling down on the street are suffering from physical incompetence. Some cannot see. Some have lost their limbs. Even though it might be possible that some of them have the willingness to find a job to earn a decent life, their realistic conditions have limited such possibilities. If we stop donating money to these people, I am afraid, they will be living in worse conditions, lying under the bridge to suffer from the cold wind at night, feeling helpless seeing their children starving all day and having no idea if they can see the sun of tomorrow.

It is certain that if the beggers are in sound physcial conditions, they should go and find jobs so that they can earn their lives with dignity. But there is the fact that some beggers are acutally old people, who belong to the inferior groups in the job market. When you see an old woman, aged 80, wandering slowly on the street and picking cardboard to sustain her life, will you be feeling it is fair to request her to send out CVs and to attend interviews to look for jobs? Do you think it is possible for her to find any possible employers to have the courage and willingness to hire her as an employee? Some beggers are too old to find a job. If we stop giving them money, they will lose the last source of income, and their lives will become even worse.

Even for the beggers who are in sound physical conditions and who have not entered into their final stages of life, we should not rush to accuse them of their laziness. As a matter of fact, some beggers are suffering from psychological diseases and it is really hard for them to pick up the courage to step back to society again. When one man becomes so desperate to be left over on the street, when one man has lost his dignity to kowtow for your mercy, and when one man bears no hope for the rest of his life, do you still think this man can be positive to face the challenges of the competition from the job market? The answer is NO. Some beggers are suffering sereve depression, anxiety and other psychological diseases. It is not that they don't want to, but that they simply cannot find a job to live a normal life.

In conclusion, when talking about the beggers on the street, we should consider their indiviual circumstances and conditions before drawing to the accusation. It is better for us to show at least some respect and sympathy to offer them some economical help so that their life can be less difficult.