Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

The issue reminds about Nero emperor's act of playing the fiddle while Rome was burning. How can the government be indulged in the development of arts when the majority of its people are suffering? It is an indication of government’s apathy towards its people. Therefore it is paramount that more priority in funding should be given for the uplifting of hungry and unemployed population than for arts.

A country's wellbeing and success are dependent upon the well-being and success of its citizens. When the citizens are employed, they will be well fed and happy. What if the country is floundering with poverty and unemployment? These two conditions will lead to social instability i.e., more robbery; criminal offenses in small scale and political instability at scale in large. These could ultimately cause the eruption of civil war and geopolitical issues at the international level. Examples in today's world include are similar to what is happening in the countries like Syria, Egypt, etc.

Art in general mainly serves the upper middle class and upper class of the society. Take the example of any form of art like music, drama, etc. These two class people are well fed and employed in general. On the other hand, who will have time to think about art for entertainment when one is deprived of food and employment? In such cases, the government spending should be diverted towards improvisation schemes which will provide employment. When the citizens are employed it is eventually going to improve the economy of the nation.

It must be acknowledged here it is not only the responsibility of own country's government. The International community should also minimize the collaborative works related to arts and lend a supporting hand in improving the standard of living of the citizens.

Finally, care and concern should be focused on the well-being of the citizens and everything comes second when it comes to the government's responsibility. Art can be nurtured and developed at any stage but human resource worth a generation is not.