In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The expertise gained through practical experience in any field is the vital source for the improvement of that field. Traditional fields like economics and politics came a long way under the guidance of visionaries who acquired knowledge through experience. Therefore, significant contributions in any field can only come through expertise.

Any major development and knowledge accumulation in any field came through the contribution of experts of those fields. Consider the field of economics where knowledge accrued over centuries helps in driving the global economy. There is no scope for trial and error based evaluation by an amateur economist. What if nations and central banks assign a novice economist as its chief? The economy would be a disaster damaging the decades worth of development.

The similar argument goes for the field of politics and education as well. No government would dare to assign a top level position to a novice in politics. In addition, it requires a certain level of experience to make a well-informed decision. A pragmatic approach towards a problem in hand can be only dealt by an expert of that field and fruitful outcomes came be brought. A proper leader - people relationship is necessary to handle the fabric of democracy like in India. If that is not the case, an amateur like can only bring dictatorship like in North Korea.

The above approach based on expertise hold well for traditional fields. At the same time, it must be acknowledged that flourishing fields like technology, energy require new thinking and ideas which can have a contribution from the beginners. It is basically a question of traditional vs. new thinking. And, that may help sometimes the emerging fields.

To conclude, the kind of contributions from beginners could be less compared to the experts in most of the fields. But there are few exceptions like emerging fields where the level of contributions to be scrutinized and compared.