“No matter what the situation, it is more harmful to compromise one’s beliefs than to adhere to them.”

In today's world, there are disparate people, religions, traditions, customs, etc. Due to the diversity, different individuals have different and everyone mostly encounters few things which go against his practices or thought process. In such a case, what should a person do? compromise or follow his own belief. The prompt recommends that giving up one's belief is hazardous than following his thoughts. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and argue that one should not compromise on his or her values due to the following reasons.

Firstly, as the saying goes, "Neven compromise, not even in the face of armageddon", humans in most cases should stick their own thoughts or ethics. If we compromise our beliefs for the sake of others, we may have to regret the decision later. For instance, if somebody wants to do something really great like making a flying car, or build intelligent machines and they believe they can achieve it, they should never go back on that. Such pathbreaking things like a flying car, or building electric vehicles usually require a lot of time and one goes through a lot of pains to achieve it as they require a lot of effort. In their journey, such people might encounter many failures and heartbreaks and other people may force them to give as the other people think what sich creators are doing is impossible. In such cases, the person working on the flying car or any invention should not compromise no matter how bleak the future may seem to him and should continue his work. If they gave up on their beliefs, we would have missed on lot of interesting inventions like airplanes, computers, automobiles, etc. Therefore, one should never compromise on his beliefs given he is doing the right thing

However, there might be times where one's belief can be wrong and might go against the principles of a country or a community. In such cases, they should compromise on their belief as what they are doing is morally incorrect and does more harm than good. For instance, in ancient India, there is an inhumane practice named 'Sati sahagaman' where if the husband dies, they advocate wife should also be followed while lighting the pyre. This was practiced in the past as it was their belief and their tradition. But few broad-minded social reformers like Mr. Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Mr. Veresalingam fought against that practice and worked day and night to abolish such inhumane activity. In such cases, if the elders did not compromise and did not give up their belief, it would have done more harm than good and many innocent young women have to die for something meaningless. Therefore if somebody's ideas or practices harms another, one should not hesitate to compromise

In conclusion, it is cardinal for an individual to stick to his or her own belief and follow that given it does not physically or mentally harm another person and does not go against the constitution or rules and regulations of the country. One should be flexible in revising their beliefs and must readily give up if it is for the greater good. Doing otherwise would bring more harm than good. But whenever one is faced with the decision of taking the hard way or the easy way, one should follow his or her morals and should not compromise on what one wants to achieve.