"One can best understand the most important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities."

Major cities of any country are mostly the economic and financial capital of that country. Characteristics and traits of inhabitants of this cities are considered as characteristics of the whole country. Big cities like New York,London,Delhi,Paris are so dense with population that it seems as if this is the only culture and people that a country has.But one can not judge the whole society just by looking at major cities people and it's culture. There are significant difference between life style of a big city and of any rural areas. So definitely just major two or three cities are not the actual representative of a country.

For example in a country like india there is so much diversity and so many different cultures that one may not find any common traits among societies. There are more than 50 languages that are spoken in india.It just difficult to draw any conclusions about the characteristics of the whole India just by looking its major cities like Mumbai or delhi.Here mostly rural and urban cultures are vastly different. And majority of indian population lives in Rural areas.Unlike city people this rural population depends it's survival upon the agriculture.

This things are true for any country. Because there are just handful of major cities in any country and all the other areas are semi-urban or rural. Certainly this urban population is not the representative of the whole country.In any major city services sector and corporate culture is in domination on the other hand in rural areas we can see most of the people are depends upon agriculture.Both of this people live different life style.For example uraban people generally go to sleep at or after 12 am night,while rural people tend to sleep early and wake up early.Also there are differences in their looks and clothing styles.

Urban people specially in major cities are always tend to live a life of hurry while rural people prefer clam and peaceful life.Also urbanian's are hard working and mostly rural people prefer more leisure time.Also there are significant educational differences between them.Rural people are not as educated as urabans.So in support with above argument we can not say that any countries characteristics can be determined just by looking at it's major cities.