Q1. “All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.”

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Fruition of globalisation can be discerned by looking at miniscule countries like Singapore and Hong Kong, which have turned themselves into formidable financial and trade hubs. In a cosmopolitan era like this, it is only apposite that education be made more global. To expedite this process, mandating all college and university students to spend at least one semester in a foreign country will play a fundamental role. The benefits of such a mandate are irrefutable.

To look at an example, we can consider the case of engineering students in India. As prestigious as the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) considers itself, it lacks infrastructure. Curriculum is restricted to the study of theoretical subjects, since there is absence of a research based environment. Thus, the exposure and benefit Indian engineering students will get by studying at an American university, stacked with research equipment, experimental labs and fervent (research-driven) professors is inestimable. But the argument doesn’t confide itself to engineering students. This is true for students of all subjects.

A student of social science studying in the UK, a nation that doesn’t discriminate its citizens on the basis of gender, must be enjoying a plethora of rights, especially the right to speech and expression. On the other hand, nations like Turkey, that muzzles naysayers and quashes any form of criticism coming from the press, and Saudi Arabia, where women are not allowed to drive, are a complete antithesis. Studying a semester in such nations, confronted by a disparate system of beliefs and social morals, will seem repugnant for students belonging from any liberal country. Living in fettered conditions, it will strengthen their core beliefs about freedom and good virtues. Conversely, bringing in students from despotic nations to study in liberal democracies, will disabuse them from the notion that it is anathema to censure politicians; vulnerable to an environment where you can choose your partner, follow any religion and express your uncensored opinion, it will purge the backward, non-liberal and immoral virtues indoctrinated in them by their rulers. Nonetheless, social beliefs and fundamental rights are specious in autocratic countries, but when it comes to building a burgeoning economy, there is a lot the West can learn from China.

Economics students studying in American schools have been taught since the beginning about how democracy is the only form of government which leads to a prosperous economy and social welfare for all. However, to study in Chinese universities, offering a unique approach to construct a successful economy (in absence of a democracy), can broaden the view of American students and force them to rethink about what the best model of government is. Another incentive to study in China would be a large access to cheap, affordable, though still profusely utilitarian goods. However, education in itself may not be that affordable.

Middle-class families of low and middle-income countries, sending their children to high-income countries like the United States, will have to pay an extortionate amount. Also, in some cases, despite spending such an exorbitant amount on education, students might not end up learning anything new. For example, students of mathematics in India will find math quite basic in other nations, since Indians have supposedly stronger math genes. Nonetheless, the benefits gained from sending students abroad for education will always outweigh the drawbacks.