In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is a way to express one’s beliefs, thoughts and emotions. Various artists around the globe use disparate artistic methods to show their artistic sides either through words, music, drawing or acting.In a world filled with different types of people, it is obvious that every person would have his or her own different perception. Every other artist works in their own different ways, but the most important thing is the thought that is conveyed through their arts. Sometimes, it is hidden that it requires some amount of understanding and intelligence and sometimes it is found very clearly. In my opinion for any art to have its worth it is necessary to understand the meaning behind it.

Firstly, any artform becomes famous only if people are able to understand it. Even if the art form requires many explanations people often go to depth to understand its meanings. Various movies or these days series of episodes only become famous if they are praised by audiences and reach to grandiloquent award functions’ nominations. For instance the movie ‘3 idiots’ is about 3 indian guys studying in the same engineering college but having different passions to pursue. The way the movie has been presented with the storylines and dialogues even though the people not born in India understand the meaning of the movie that every person must follow their passion. The movie became very popular globally even though it has been released in Hindi language.Even after almost a decade the movie is still in vogue globally. The only reason for that is that audiences are able to get and appreciate the message behind it.

Secondly, for the people who are into literature, they read books or novels which are comprehensible and avert meaningful thoughts or messages. It is not necessary that these messages be only philosophical but it may be anything that is helpful. Any common man who is keen to read books would be finding different books to read and will come across books which got famous because so many people liked it and found it useful. There are so many writers around every corner of the world but not every writer’s work is praised by everyone. People become very desperate to know more about the works of artists only to enjoy the hidden messages in their poems and stories.

There might be some people arguing that arts should not be bound by the dogma that others should like it. Maybe they are right that expressing one’s emotions must not have any boundaries, and that the artist must work without expectations of getting the merit by people.Hence, I believe that the work of any artist gets praise and value if the people are able to understand and connect with it.