In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The question of whether a work of art, be it a film, novel or poem must be understandable to most of the people to have merit is a complex and subjective matter. For broader appreciation of arts, accessibility and understandability is a crucial requirement but establishing equity between merit and the understandability of an art by majority oversimplifies the diversity of arts.

First and foremost, a work of art is a medium of communication through which artists express their emotions and thoughts. Through understanding an art, people form different places can related to different cultures, norms and disciplines which broader the intellectual ability of people. For example, the novels or films on romances or family relations has a great impact on making people understand the cultures of different parts of the world and form a connection between diverse cultures.

However, there can be some works which are made to challenge the accepted notions or put forward new ideas. This can lead to such works which are unrelatable and difficult to be understood by most of the people. For instance, there are many poems or novels that have introduced revolutionary ideas but understood by people much later than it was produced. There can be diverse opinions about a single work, so connecting the merit of an artform with understanding of that is a bit much.

Furthermore, A variety of artworks are present that require prior knowledge to understand them such as musics have variety of forms that are likable by different groups of people and it do not reduce the merit of the artwork. Even if an art is accessible by broad audience, it can be difficult for the artist to make his work understandable to all if the audience has not the prior knowledge required.

In conclusion, art should be accessible and understood by broad audience as it helps to extend people's boundary of thoughts. But linking the art's merit to people understandability is very oversimplified notion as the art is a very diverse field. Ultimately, the work's merit should be accessed based on it's ability to provoke emotion and opinions though it is understood by a smaller audience.