In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature

College plays a pivotal role in a person's life and teaches them the necessary skills and prepares them for their professional lives and careers. However, this is not nearly enough. Bookish knowledge cannot prepare one for the practical world. A person needs to be good at their core professional skills obviously, but they also need good soft skills if they wish to succeed in their professional endeavors. The prompt recommends that college students should be required to take up courses where they read novels, poetry, and other creative materials so that they can build their soft skills, foster their creativity and become well-rounded individuals. I strongly agree with this suggestion for two main reasons.

First off, history testament to the fact that all innovation springs from the creativity of inventors. A recent survey conducted amongst high school students over the course of several semesters showed that kids who read 'Harry Potter' and other fictional novels outperformed their peers in almost all subjects displayed display significantly more creativity. These courses will encourage students to think out of the box and will allow them to tackle problems with new and innovative solutions.

Furthermore, these courses also help students inculcate soft skills. Most of these courses require students to study subjects and issues that may be completely new to them. And a lot of these courses also require them to write and present their thoughts on these. A Shakespeare class, for instance, will most likely require students to perform a play. Students studying poetry might be expected to present original pieces. Someone studying the works of Hemmingway might be expected to present an analysis on his works. These practices will turn them into better writers, effective listeners, and confident speakers. All of these skills are extremely useful in a person's professional life, and will only serve to take them to greater heights.

Skeptics may question the need for students to study such subjects. Especially students enrolled in subjects that have little or nothing to do with these. "What use is literature to an engineering student?" they might ask. But this is precisely why we need to educate students about these subjects. Students right now are missing out on a plethora of new skills and experiences that may have a really large impact on their careers and personalities. Therefore, I strongly believe that college students should be allowed to reap the benefits of these subjects so that they can become well-rounded members of society.