In order to improve the quality of instruction at the college and university level, all of the faculty should be required to spend time working outside of the academic world in the professions relevant to the courses they teach.

In the statement the author asserts that for improving the instruction, all the faculties must have to spend time working outside the academic world. I totally agree with author assertion. the reasons to substantiated my viewpoint are elaborate upon hereunder.

First of all, I think in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live by each passing day, technology as well as the working methods are change. Therefore, faculties have to update their knowledge by the new technologies and how they used in practical. I never could forget professor Kalate. He was one of the oldest professors that I ever seen. He was too strict on the old fashion methods which we never could see in practical and his classes were one of the worst class that I took during my bachelor. Besides he enervating and spending students time.

Second, faculties are the persons who educate the next generations, so if they could understand concepts in practical and use, they will better could explain it to students. For example, in my hydraulic structure course, I pleased to illustrate cavitation phenomenon to the high schooler students. At first, I read lots of articles, papers and books about it. However, I couldn’t grasp to it in the best way. I went to Hydraulic lab and ask lab stuff to illustrate it to myself. I never could forge the time that I see the bubbles and hear how they pops. He said in the large-scale and during times this phenomenon occurs damage in hydraulic structures. I deeply understand it and it the open house day, every one loved my explanation. It was the time that I understand, if the presenter completely figures out concept in practical and in the real world, her/his student will understand it as well.

Last, the class will be more attractive, if faculty members spend a little time out of the academic world. As they would full of experiments and stories from the problems that a phlegmatic worker could face with it. Professor Barghian was one of the outstanding professors in the bridge engineering in my city. He engaged about twelve-year in the construction of lots of bridges. I remember most of the student enjoyed his class, as he said about the probable problems that an engineer could face with them in every part of the bridge construction. We fully concentrate to his words. I could say I can imagine myself in the construction field, therefore. I could easily understand the various parts of the bridges, where an engineer has to take care more, and how could solve the problems during the construction.

In sum, taking aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I totally agree with the author and I believe that all of the universities should account on their faculties work experiment as well as knowledges.