"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

While it may be true that the decrease in time devoted for local news and weather would have resulted in the loss of revenue ,the author's argument does not make a cogent case for deciding if the loss is only because of alloting lesser duration for local news. The manager says the complaints received were regarding weather andl local news . However the author relies upon a number of douobtful assumptions and is therefore unconvincing.

Firstly,the author reports that the late-night news program has increased its time for national news and decreased time for local and weather news .And during this time the complaints from viewers were more regarding coverage of weather news. However, the scope and validity of these complaints is questionable. The complaints could have been because of other reasons such as the accuracy of weather report or lack of authentic information on the local news. Hence , due to lack of complete information and details we cannot conclude that the complaints were purely concerned with the time duration of weather and local news.

Additionally, the manager says that the advertising companies have cancelled their contracts with this particualar news channel because of the change in time alloted for a particular news. There is no concrete connection between the cancellation of advertising contracts and the time allotment for some news. The advertising agency could have found other stations telecasting their adds for a cheaper rate and hence decided to cancel their contract with this particular channel.

Thirdly, there is no information regarding the exact number of complaints that have been received .These complaints could be only from 2 or 3 people and hence does not represent the majority. Also,There could have been no change in the total complaints regarding the weather and local news before and after the change in timings.

In conclusion, the managers decision to restore back to orginal alloted timing is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument the author must provide evidence that there is no other cause for the cancellation in contracts by the advertising company . In order to better evaluate the argument, more information regarding the exact number and content of complaints recieved is required.