"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author present the case of a television station. He supposes that the change in time allotted to the weather and local news has had adverse effects on the station. In order to compensate for the losses he proposes to increase the time devoted to the local and weather news. However the argument is not tenable as it lacks valid evidences. Also the manager makes several unwarranted assumptions. As a result the argument becomes dubious.

The first problem with the argument is the vague terminology. The manager mentions that the program has increased the time alloted to national new and truncated the time of weather and local news. However he doesn't specify how much was the decrease, 2 hours or 10 min? Next he states that during this time period, most of the complaints received were related to the coverage of weather and local news. Here also the wording is ambigious. The author should have mentioned the exact number of complaints and also the figure of complains which were related to the weather and local news.

Next the author assumes that the complaints were due to the reduced coverage of the weather and local news. However it could be the case that the complains were related to the content of the weather and local news. Maybe the local news covered a scandalous story about their beloved politician. That is why many people are carping about it. Thus in order to validate his assumption the author should have mentioned solid evidences that describes the complaints.

Moreover the author states the the local businesses canceled the advertising contracts with the station. Here the author confuses the cause and effect. He presumes that the contracts were terminated only because of the curtailed weather and local news. However there could have been alternative reasons . Maybe the relation between the company and the station had worsened over the years. Or perhaps the popularity of the station has decreased ; a new station is gaining popularity. Also these could also attribute to the cancellation of the contracts.

Finally the author concludes that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will have the desired effect of attracting more viewers and losing further revenues. However this conclusion is based on fallacious logic. The revenue loss and the viewers are not directly associated with the local and weather news. All this faulty assumptions lead to an untenable conclusion. To bolster the conclusion the author could have provided certain facts or statistics that explicitly shows the link between the viewers , revenues and the time alloted to the weather and local news.

To recapitulate the author argument is based on vague terminology, erroneous assumptions. Also there are no specific evidences to corroborate the claim. Hence the author's conclusion the by increasing the allotted time to the local and weather news, more viwers will be attracted and revenues will not decrease further, is incredible.