Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguement presented in the prompt concludes that ancient humans had some esoteric knowledge about human body and imitating their diet can help us cure many chronic illnesses. This conclusion was derived as there is a strong anecdotal evidence that people who consumed ancient human diet had fewer metabolic and inflamatory diseases than those who didn't. Moreover, it is beleived that their diet has many health promoting nutients that have many benefits. In my opinion the arguement presented will be flawed if following assumptions are not warrented.

Firstly, how is the author sure that, fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases in people who consume hominids is due to hominids? In other words, it is possible that the can be another reason for fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases in people who consume hominids. For instance, it is possible that inflammatory and metabolic diseases are completly uncorrelated with the diet consumed. The causes for such diseases may be environmental. This would mean that among people who consume bone broth and who don't, diet does not play any role in regards to inflammatory and metabolic diseases. Until statistical evidence is presented supporting this assumption, the arguement is faulty.

Secondly, how is the author of the arguement sure that, the ancient humans had some unknown knowledge about human physiology and hence consumed their particular diet? In other words, it is possible that the ancient humans were not familiar with the human body. For instance, it may be possible that, the ancient humans were following their particular diet not due to their unknown knowledge about human body, but because there was no other type of food available to them. It maybe that, the ancient humans had abundance of animal bones with no other food available. It also maybe that, the ancient humans only knew how to cook bone broth hence, they only consumed that. So unless evidence is presented backing this assumption, the arguement is flawed.

The arguement as it stands now is faulty due to the unstated and unsubstantiated assumptions mentioned above. The author needs to provide systematic and sound research in order to make the arguement cogent. Until the, the arguement stands flawed.